The Faculty of Catholic Theology of the University of Vienna was founded on the 21st of February 1384 and is the oldest theological faculty in the German-speaking world.

Currently there are about 1,200 students from 30 different countries studying at the Faculty of Catholic Theology.

Students can choose between 11 different degree programmes (Bachelor-, Master-, Diploma-, Doctoral- and PhD-programmes).

About 70 scientists do research and teaching at the Faculty. The Faculty is organised in seven institutes, 15 departments and four main research fields.

The Faculty of Catholic Theology participates in three interdiscilinary research platforms and two research-centers established at the University of Vienna.

The Library of Theology currently offers approximately 350,000 volumes, making it one of the largest  Libraries in Central Europe.

 Folder about the Faculty of Catholic Theology (in German)